Editorial: Photography and the Plus Sized cosplayer   29 comments

I’ve been hemming and hawing about writing a piece on this for a while, and I wasn’t sure how to do it without getting bawws of ‘jealous fattie’. Finally, I have decided to just write it, because honestly, just because I am overweight, doesn’t make my point of view any less valid.

I’ve seen a number of cosplayers talk about the trend photography is taking in cosplay. And I’m talking about women who are in good shape and are attractive. It seems that cosplayers, particularly women, have to wear skimpy and over the top costumes to get anyone to take their picture. Men have an even harder time. They have to either have light up costumes, complete armor costumes, or be super buff, tan, and sleek.

But if you are plus-sized? Forget about it. You’ve got virtually no chance in Hell.

I’ve been cosplaying since 2001. I’ve always been a large girl, though my size has varied throughout the years. However, I have always had a hard time getting my picture taken unless I either pay for it, I’m part of a large group, or it is someone I know. I’m willing to say that part of it has to do with the characters I choose. I cosplay what I love and not what’s popular. However, I’ve done some fairly elaborate costumes through the years, and with one notable exception, I have always been overlooked.

For whatever reason, getting my picture taken has always been hard for me. Unfortunately, as the years have gone on it’s gotten worse. I’ve even been asked to step out of pictures on numerous occasions – even when I’m obviously paired with my wife. I remember wearing Utena and Steph was wearing Anthy at Nan Desu Kan 2005, and a photographer asked for Steph’s picture. She insisted that I was in it with her, and the photographer made sure to cut me out of the frame. (He was stupid and showed Steph the picture afterward.) Or another instance when I was wearing Prince Endymion to Steph’s Princess Sailormoon. Someone asked for her picture, and Steph asked if they wanted “her Endymion” as well. The person looked at me, frowned, and said, “No.”

It has actually happend enough that Steph will now refuse to allow a photographer to take her picture if we’re a matched set and they won’t take mine with her. It’s a pretty huge kick in the teeth, I have to tell you.

And I realize why this is. It’s an esthetics thing. No matter how well made my costume is, most people don’t care. All they see is a fat person wearing a costume. I also realize that some photographers are just hacks; they don’t make art, they take pictures of hot chicks (and, even more rarely, hot guys) and post them to get their name out there. And I also realize there are a phenomenal amount of cosplays out there, and that it is impossible for any one photographer to get pictures of them all. (Though some of them still try, bless their hearts!) However, people who know their craft, people who are trying to do more than take “hot body” pictures are getting more and more rare.

I also think that there are very few photographers who even know how to take a good picture of something, be it large cosplayer, bowl of fruit, or a “day in the life” photo. Having a pretty subject – like a hot guy, gorgeous girl, lovely rose, or brand new car – does not make you a good photographer. Having a top of the line camera does not make you a good photographer. Knowing how to frame a photo, what lighting to use, and take the best angle picture of your subject makes you a good photographer.

I’d like to challenge photographers out there. There are a number of incredibly talented plus-sized cosplayers out there. I know any one of them would love to help you level up your picture taking; to show that you can do more than take mediocre pictures of pretty things.

Ask us. Work with us. You might be surprised with the result.

29 responses to “Editorial: Photography and the Plus Sized cosplayer

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is sadly a growing issue I have noticed. My fiance is not the most attractive. He used to weigh close to 300 pounds, and now he weighs a nice 180. Still, whenever we cosplay together, photographers will go out of their way to get pictures of only me. It’s isn’t like I don’t put the same amount of effort into his costumes. It became a joke between me and a few con buddies when I was Eternal Sailor Moon. He actually started doing silly poses in the bg because no one wanted his picture. I’m just so sick of it. Now, if we are a cosplaying together, they get us both or nothing.

  2. Good read! 🙂

  3. Would you mind if I shared this on my blog? http://www.kombokitten.blogspot.com – I often post things related to cosplay and would mention this page and you as the original source?

  4. I love you and your wife’s cosplays. My fiancée and I did fang and vanille for Halloween and she was worried about being a plus size Fang. I believe that a beautiful cosplay is a beautiful cosplay, no matter what size the cosplayer. (However, if they are quite small, I will offer them food. But that’s just the way I was raised…) Sorry for the long post, I just wanted you to know that you standing up for plus size cosplayers is something that my fiancée and I, at least, appreciate. Thank you. (By the way, I Squee everytime I see you two in a couples cosplay. 🙂 )

    • ” (However, if they are quite small, I will offer them food. But that’s just the way I was raised…)”

      You were raised to do something mean and potentially harming. I hope this is just a poor attempt at humor.

  5. Great read.

    This sucks that this is a thing. No wonder I don’t see a lot of photos of plus sized cosplayers. I keep trying to look for them. I know there’s a ton of beautiful cosplays made by people who also happen to be plus sized. But unfortunately most people don’t look for the artistry of cosplay. They’re just looking for their idea of “beauty”. And you make gorgeous costumes!

    Seriously, I may not take that many pictures when I go to cons, but this year I’m going to make it a point to take pictures for the artistry or because people are really good at acting as their character (that is when I’m not cosplaying). Good cosplay is good cosplay, no matter the size, race, gender, etc. of the person.

  6. Darlin, you hit the nail on the head there. If it is okay with you, I would love to share your article on my website.

  7. I don’t think it’s because you are overweight that this happens, this also happens to thin good looking non popular cosplayers who are not wearing skimpy outfits. If you want well known cosplay photographers to photograph you then you need to be cosfamous. Otherwise they don’t care

    • I actually said in my article that it isn’t just overweight people; in the second paragraph, I talk about how your average cosplayer has a hard time getting pictures taken. Men have an even more difficult time than women. I was simply stating that if it’s hard for average or small sized women to get their picture taken, it’s harder for men, and almost impossible for plus-sized people.

  8. I don’t see it any more difficult for someone based on there size, more so it’s based on the popularity within the cosplay community. That’s the point I’m making

  9. This happens to me — or rather, sometimes it happens to me. If I wear Thief Rikku, I get stopped for pictures everywhere, all the time. But if I wear something non-skimpy, like Animal Trainer Rikku — the number of people asking for my photo goes down precipitously. My face, the character, and the quality of my craftsmanship doesn’t change — even the level of “brightly colored attention-getting things” is the same — the only difference is the amount of skin showing.

    But I also quite frequently roll with a group, and I’ve never had someone ask that any member of our group step out of a photo when we’re all from the same series.

  10. I “liked” your post, then I thought that maybe I should unlike it, but I’ve decided to stay with “like.” I *don’t* like that you have experienced this kind of thing when cosplaying, but I *do* like that you have the courage to speak your mind about it. I’m attending my first anime con this year, and I intend to do what I always do: take pictures of anyone I admire who will let me, regardless of size. Hopefully others will do the same.

  11. I’d actually like to post a response to this blog on my tumblr if that’s okay. I’m a plus size cosplayer and petite plus model and I’ve honestly stopped looking to con photographers for pictures for some of the reasons listed. http://www.tumblr.com/blog/americangeiko

  12. It’s sad when this happens. I’ve had some people do that to me and my best friend (who is plus size) last year at Sakura Con she was being the Seiya to my Yaten. Someone wanted a pic with me and I said not without my Seiya and they left off in a huff.

  13. Thank you for sharing this… very well written. There are a lot of beautiful cosplayers out there, of all shapes, sizes, and colors, and I enjoy seeing them all!

  14. I have a saying:
    AWESOME is Not a Size, Shape, Colour, Age, or Gender.
    It is a simple as that, and if someone cannot see that, they are Blind.
    We cannot Force anyone to like us.
    And in defense of Some Photographers, if there is a group standing about at a convention, and the photographer wants to take a pic, and one of the group is in a costume that does not go with the others (for example, a Naruto group with a Bleach cosplayer) I can understand that they would ask that one to step out of the shot.
    That is Not what is being discussed here, though.

    It is a sad fact that there are ‘Levels’ of intelligent awareness in people, and you are one of the top 10%.
    The 90% just cannot see or understand.
    As I say:
    Only the Best Monkeys get to work with the Organ Grinders, the rest mostly just Fling Poop.

    -Deadpool, AzA/ECA.
    https://www.facebook.com/EastCoastAvengers

  15. Pingback: Editorial: Photogrophy and the Plus Sized Cosplayer

  16. I’ve noticed that. When I’m crossplaying, people don’t mind that I’m really a slightly larger gal, my height also helps even things out. But the moment I put on a pretty girly dress… It’s all over. I really get ignored. It is frustrating and annoying.

    It’s a trend among photographers that needs to stop. People all aren’t the same and honestly, seeing the same pictures of the same skinny chick over and over gets really annoying.

    I’m going to be selfish and say some of the photographers I know (honest to god good guys) will take amazing pictures of larger cosplayers. But there are some I know that do snub their nose at us. And a trend I noticed at Sakura-Con… the Publicity department isn’t granting press badges to just freelance photograhers anymore. You honestly need to be apart of an outlet that puts a report (or review) out on the convention. It’s really minimized the ‘hot girl (and guy) photographers’.

    Thank you for posting this. It’s something that really needs to be addressed.

  17. I would take all the photos of you! I agree with the majority of cosplay photographers not even being true photographers.
    I am a professional photographer by trade but a cosplayer at con and I will tell you right now if you’re an east coast cosplayer that attends any cons that I do I would be happy to do a private shoot for you.

    • It’s great to see there are still some photographers out there, rather than GWC’s (as one reader put it). There are some, and the ones I’ve met are super sweet and great all around people. Keep doing what you do! 😀

      That would be amazing. We would love to work with you. Thank you so much!

  18. Kudos for the well-written article. I always try to take photos of everyone to the best of my ability, as I believe that every cosplayers deserve good photos of their works.

    Maybe some photographers think taking photos of average folks are ‘bad’ for their galleries/albums/portfolios. To me that’s hogwash.

  19. Pingback: Editorial: Revisiting ‘Photography and the Plus Sized Cosplayer’ « Starnigh Industries

  20. Jumping on here to add that I am also appreciative to read this post. I’m doing cosplay for the FIRST TIME EVER at Colossal Con 2012 and as much as I’d like to say I’m excited, I’m equally terrified. Like others, I’ve scoured the internet to try and find well-represented plus-size cosplay. And when I say well-represented, I mean quality photos and zero bashing. It’s been difficult. I couldn’t believe all the hate I found towards plus-size cosplay..even towards non-professional (but well made) cosplay. It seems like there’s only love for models and model-figures.

    Anyway, nice to know that lots of us feel this way, and I’ll keep my chin up come June.

    You are all awesome!

    • It’s sad and frustrating, but thankfully there seems to be some progress in there area. We’ve gotten a lot of positive feedback from this post, and we see some slow movement towards more positive attitudes and acceptance of plus-sized cosplayers.

      Wishing you the best on your first cosplay! Please feel free to share photos. We’d love to hear more about your first cosplay experience!

  21. Ah, I found this on google, but I’m actually a photographer working on building my skills and I like to work with all body shapes and sizes, skin color, or whatever else. So, if you know anyone in the DC or VA area, I’m willing to work with them! I don’t charge anything, just for fun. You can spread the word if you like, but I’m glad to see someone finally pointing this out!

  22. Thanks for posting this. I will be attending my 2nd DragonCon this year and want to do my first cosplay. I was googling plus size cosplay and found this post. Im terribly nervous because I am having a hard time finding something for my size 18 body. To read this and see some people appreciate plus size cosplay helps me feel a little better.

Leave a comment